The New Typography Stamp Collection

In 1928, German designer Jan Tschichold published Die Neue Typographie. The document was the definitive exposition on graphic design standards for the machine age, and it spearheaded a design movement that was a complete shift away from the old standards. It set a new goal for graphic design: clarity. It aimed to serve the new societal needs when it came to printed material, to wipe the slate clean and find a new asymmetrical typography to express the spirit, life, and visual sensibility of the day.

These stamps and their accompanying brochures commemorate the artists who pioneered the New Typography movement in the 20th century: Jan Tschichold, Herbert Bayer, Laszlo Moholy-Nagy, Kurt Schwitters, and Piet Zwart.


This website is a work in progress.